PDA

View Full Version : Paul Schrader

Kevin H
08-07-2010, 10:31 PM
Schrader has an interesting filmography...but let's narrow the focus to the films he's directed. Which is your favorite?

Shane K
08-07-2010, 10:40 PM
1. Hardcore

2. Blue Collar

3. Auto Focus

Alex K.
08-07-2010, 10:41 PM
Hardcore very closely followed by Blue Collar, that is if I absolutely have to vote and my preference for George C. Scott. But really Blue Collar is just as good, and features some amazing performances. I didn't think much of Auto Focus and the others, but I have Mishima somewhere and I need to see it.

Honorable mention for Rolling Thunder (which he wrote).

Matthew BB
08-07-2010, 10:54 PM
There are some moments that don't always work and even border on cringe-inducing in a number of his films. Having said that, Schrader is probably my favorite filmmaker/screenwriter. At least that's what I've been telling people for the last 10 years.

1. BLUE COLLAR
2. MISHIMA
3. AMERICAN GIGOLO

I don't hear many people mention THE WALKER. Not great, but definitely worth checking out. I think he considered it the finale of his "lonely men in their room" series.

Randy Thomas G
08-07-2010, 10:59 PM
1. Affliction
2. Blue Collar
3. Mishima

As much as I like Hardcore the film is too seriously flawed and ridiculous to put in his top films, imo.

cworkman
08-08-2010, 10:34 AM
I've seen a very limited number of Schrader's films and don't really like any of them, so I can't really vote.

That said, there are still quite a few of his films I need to see, and maybe I'll like one of those. But as it stands, his work has that feel of trying too hard to shock and losing something in the process.

Ray Kanne
08-08-2010, 11:26 AM
Affliction. Like Carpenter in the other poll I like most of Schraders work too.

David F
08-08-2010, 01:19 PM
Mishima
Mishima
Mishima
Mishima

Have I mentioned "Mishima" yet?

Guillaume P
08-08-2010, 01:34 PM
Cat People.

Emanuele Sheriff
08-08-2010, 05:59 PM