PDA

View Full Version : Are any Santo movies public domain?

J Fresta
03-08-2005, 12:06 AM
Are any of the El Santo movies in the public domain? I mean...I know Beverly Wilshire released the few English dubbed ones....but didn't they discover that those weren't p.d.? Or am I thinking of something else?

And while we're on the Mexi-horror subject....is Robot vs. The Aztec Mummy p.d.?

thanks

Damian P
03-08-2005, 12:26 AM
I suspect not as just about every seller of these videos/DVDs had to withdraw their titles from sale.
The films were sold quietly as underground bootlegs for many years but once companies put the films in every other store the rights holders caught on.

Torstein Karlsen
03-08-2005, 02:47 AM
What would be the best Santo movie to start with, I have no knowledge about them, just that alot has been made :)

Gary Banks
03-08-2005, 08:21 AM
For sheer goofy fun I would endorse Samson Vs The Vampire Women or Santo Vs Frankenstein's Daughter.

Ian Jane
03-08-2005, 11:21 AM
I'd second Vampire Women. It's my favorite of the ones I've seen.

William R.
03-08-2005, 01:16 PM
Thirds for VAMPIRE WOMEN, my favorite of what can be found on dvd. The best Santo films have yet to be released in legit form, but I'm a sucker for all his films.

Ian Jane
03-08-2005, 01:18 PM
There's just something about a masked wrestler making time with the ladies and stopping to play chess with his pal before busting out monster ass that appeals to me.

William R.
03-08-2005, 02:27 PM
Agreed. I can't imagine what my childhood would've been like without Santo. Santo and Coffin Joe had a huge impact on how fucked up I am today.

Ian Jane
03-08-2005, 02:47 PM
I've never seen that one, but I think Santo taking on the mafia would make for a good time.

J Fresta
03-08-2005, 03:23 PM
so nobody knows for sure if any of these are public domain? :confused:

William R.
03-08-2005, 03:29 PM
I've never seen that one, but I think Santo taking on the mafia would make for a good time.